Briggs and Morgan Announces New Firm Leadership

Print PDFShare
March 3, 2014

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. (March 3, 2014) – Briggs and Morgan, Professional Association is pleased to announce that the firm’s board of directors has elected Sam Hanson as managing partner/president. Hanson succeeds Alan Maclin, who served as the firm’s president for the past seven years.

Hanson practiced law with Briggs and Morgan for 34 years before he was appointed to the Court of Appeals in 2000. After serving on the Minnesota Court of Appeals for two years and the Minnesota Supreme Court for five years, he rejoined Briggs’ Business Litigation Section and Energy Law Group, and is a member of the firm’s Appellate Practice Group.

The firm also elected three new members to its board of directors: Nancy Aiken, Tim Gelinske and Mike Gordon (secretary). Current board member Lauren Lonergan will replace outgoing board member Michael Miller as vice president. The new members join Briggs and Morgan’s current board: Sam Hanson, Lauren Lonergan (vice president), Elizabeth Brama (treasurer), Thomas Bray, Michael McEllistrem and Philip Schenkenberg. Brian Wenger remains chair of the firm.

Briggs and Morgan, Professional Association, is a trusted name in business law and litigation services. With offices in Minneapolis and St. Paul, Minnesota, the firm’s attorneys are committed to providing superior client service and sound legal counsel to clients nationwide. Briggs and Morgan ranks among The NLJ 350 as one of the nation’s largest firms and has received numerous accolades, including recognition by Corporate Counsel and top clients as a “Go-To Law Firm®” in the areas of litigation, corporate transactions, corporate governance, and labor and employment. The firm and its attorneys have also been selected for publication in The Best Lawyers in America and Chambers USA