Briggs and Morgan Elects New Officers and Board Members

Print PDFShare
March 9, 2011

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. (March 9, 2011) – The shareholders of Briggs and Morgan, Professional Association, elected three new members to their board of directors: Michael T. MillerTimothy R. Thornton and Brian D. Wenger. Board member Sam Hanson was elected as the firm’s vice president and new board member Michael Miller was elected as secretary.

Michael Miller is a shareholder in, and former head of, the Employment, Benefits and Labor Section. He currently heads up the Employment Law Counseling Practice Group and focuses his practice in the areas of employment law compliance, employment law counseling and employment litigation. Miller’s legal analyses have contributed to several groundbreaking cases establishing employer rights and he is a frequent labor and employment law lecturer. A member of the Hennepin County, Minnesota State and American bar associations, Miller has been listed in Minnesota Super LawyersChambers USAand is a Minnesota State Bar Association Certified Labor and Employment Law Specialist. Miller received his B.A. from the University of Minnesota and his law degree from William Mitchell College of Law. Miller joined Briggs in 1987.

Tim Thornton is a shareholder in the Business Litigation Section. His litigation practice covers a wide variety of legal matters including complex litigation, mass torts, class actions, environmental and labor and employment. Thornton is a member of the Hennepin County, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Florida and American bar associations. He has been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America and listed in Minnesota Super Lawyers. Thornton also has been listed as a top 40 business litigator in Minnesota Law & Politics, and named a leading attorney by Benchmark Litigation. Thornton was named an "Attorney of the Year" by Minnesota Lawyer in 2008. Thornton received his B.A. from Carleton College and his law degree from Florida State College of Law. He joined Briggs in 1990.

Brian Wenger is chair of the firm’s Commercial Department and a shareholder in, and former head of, the Business Law Section. Wenger practices principally in the areas of strategic corporate transactions, professional sports teams, corporate governance, special board counsel, securities law, family estate planning, corporate finance and mezzanine debt. Wenger is a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association. In addition to being recognized for his work in national publications, he has been listed in Minnesota Super Lawyers andChambers USA. Wenger also was named an “Attorney of the Year" byMinnesota Lawyer in 2009. Wenger received his B.A. from Marquette University and his law degree from Villanova University. He joined Briggs in 1988.

The new members join Briggs and Morgan’s current board: Darlene CobianJames DuffySam HansonAlan Maclin (president), Steven Ryan and Frank Taylor.