Briggs and Morgan Elects New Directors and Officers

Print PDFShare
February 19, 2008

MINNEAPOLIS, MINN. – The shareholders of Briggs and Morgan, Professional Association, elected three new directors: Neal T. Buethe, Michael J. Grimes and Jack Y. Perry.

Neal T. Buethe is a shareholder and member of Briggs’ labor and employment law section and head of the firm’s education practice group. He has more than 20 years of experience in complex commercial litigation and employment disputes. He represents nonprofit clients as general counsel. Buethe received his B.A. summa cum laude from the College of St. Thomas and his M.A. and J.D. from the University of Notre Dame, where he was an editor of the Notre Dame Law Review. He is a former Minnesota Supreme Court law clerk. Buethe joined Briggs and Morgan in 1986.

Michael J. Grimes is a shareholder and member of the business law section. He practices in the areas of mergers and acquisitions; corporate strategy and structure; complex transactions; executive employment, termination and compensation; and licensing law. He served previously as treasurer and a member of the firm’s executive committee. Grimes has been listed in Minnesota Super Lawyers and named one of the top 20 mergers and acquisitions attorneys in Minnesota by Minnesota Law & Politics . He received his B.S. cum laude in accounting and finance from Florida State University and his law degree cum laude from William Mitchell College of Law. He joined Briggs in 1987.

Jack Y. Perry is a shareholder and member of the business litigation section. He practices specifically in permitting and regulatory compliance, land use planning and zoning, corporate disputes, personal injury and appellate law. He has handled all matters of concern for waste management, utility, aggregate, development, construction, real estate, agriculture, food and entertainment clients in various forms of administrative, regulatory and corporate disputes. He received his B.A. magna cum laude from St. John's University and his law degree cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School. Following law school, Jack was a clerk for Minnesota Supreme Court Justice M. Jeanne Coyne. He joined Briggs in 1991.

Briggs’ new directors join re-elected members of the board Nancy C. Aiken, Charles R. Haynor, Michael C. Krikava, Joseph P. Noack and president Alan H. Maclin. In addition, new officers for 2008 are:

Nancy C. Aiken, Vice President, is a shareholder and member of Briggs’ business law section. She assists clients with all facets of mergers and acquisitions, joint ventures and partnerships, and overall corporate strategy and structure. She also provides counsel on general corporate and securities law matters. Aiken received her B.B.A. and M.A. in accounting from the University of Iowa, and graduated magna cum laude from the University of Iowa Law School. She was an associate with Briggs during the early ’90s, before serving as senior counsel for Koch Industries Inc. from 1995 to 2000. Aiken re-joined Briggs in 2000 as a shareholder.

Elizabeth M. Brama, Assistant Treasurer, is a shareholder and member of the firm’s business litigation section, practicing primarily in complex commercial litigation. She has been involved in finance and accounting disputes, labor and employment matters, appellate and administrative practice, and environmental disputes. Brama received her law degree magna cum laude from the University of Minnesota Law School and graduated from the University of St. Thomassumma cum laude with a B.A. in accounting. Prior to joining Briggs in 2002, she clerked for Chief Justice Kathleen A. Blatz and served as legal counsel for the 2001-2002 Minnesota Special Redistricting Panel.

Neal T. Buethe, Secretary (see above)