Michael M. Lafeber

Shareholder; Intellectual Property

Mike is co-chair of Briggs’ Intellectual Property Section. He specializes in defending and maximizing the value of his clients’ intellectual property. Mike has litigated more than 100 intellectual property related matters in United States District Court, including 31 patent infringement matters, 75 trademark infringement matters and 13 copyright infringement matters. Mike has also handled more than 40 contested proceedings filed with the United States Patent and Trademark Office. While Mike is a veteran of more than 20 trials and arbitration hearings, his main goal has and always will be to cost effectively achieve his clients’ business objectives. As a result, Mike has been involved in a much larger number of intellectual property disputes which have resolved without the need for litigation.

Mike’s practice is national in scope, with appearances in United States District Courts in Minnesota, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas and Wisconsin. Mike is also admitted before the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals and the United States Supreme Court.

Currently, Mike serves as co-chair of the American Bar Association’s Intellectual Property Roundtable Committee. He is a past member of the board of directors for the Minnesota Defense Lawyers Association and past chairperson of the Minnesota Defense Lawyers Association New Lawyers Committee. He is also a former chair of the Defense Research Institute’s Young Lawyers Corporate Counsel Committee. He has been named a “Rising Star” and “Super Lawyer” by Minnesota Super Lawyers, and most recently, a “top 40” intellectual property attorney.

Mike obtained his undergraduate degree in government from St. John’s University in Collegeville, Minnesota. He obtained his law degree cum laude from the University of Minnesota, where he was director of the Civil Rights Moot Court. He served as law clerk to the Honorable Ann D. Montgomery, United States District Court, District of Minnesota. Mike joined Briggs in 2002.